Don’t have the money?

It seems that when I get ready to go on holiday my friends, family, even colleagues assume that I make a generous amount of money to afford to go abroad.  The reality is, I do earn a decent living but not the amount that some may think.  IMG_9558-1I know what my priority is in life, it is to see as much of the world I can before life catches up with me.  In 2012 I received my first passport and I didn’t use it until I took a cruise in Mexico, however I received no stamp *womp womp*.  Two years later I end up in England and trekking across Europe to Paris, France and Bruges, Belgium.  I now have made a personal goal to make one international trip a year.  As you may have read in “Destino Costa Rica“, I ventured to Central America and enjoyed the laid back Caribbean town of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca.  I haven’t quite decided the next destination for 2016.

So how do I do make it happen?  It’s not as hard as it may seem.  Set your mind on a goal, find your inner will power, and make it happen!  Here are some methods that I have used in the past to set money aside for my travels.  Maximize your saving potential: utilize more than one method simultaneously.  IMG_9559-1  First off, I always have $150 automatically deducted from my paycheck and deposited into a savings account.  My savings account does not come with a debit card and the credit union I bank with does not have many branches so it is literally impossible for me to withdraw money unless I make a point to do so.  The inaccessibility of my savings account works for me in this instance.

Next up, I have always liked using the 52 Week Savings Challenge.  Week 1 you will set aside $1.00 and then Week 2 you set aside $2.00 to deposit into your bank account.  This progresses throughout the year.  In theory (if you haven’t dipped into your savings), you should have $1,378.00 by the end of the calendar year!  There are many variances of this savings guide.  You can try A Penny at a Time or enjoy it BINGO! style.

There are many more ways you can take advantage and save even more, yes more, money after monthly bills are paid and the money you’ve set aside from the aforementioned savings plans.  You can even implement the Dave Ramsey Envelope System.  I haven’t tried Dave Ramsey’s plan yet, but that is my mini-goal for next month.  Please check out the below sites for more ideas on how to cut costs and save money:

  1. 10 Ways to Save $1k This Year by Refinery29
  2. 15 Ways to Save Money Everyday by Frugal Living Mom
  3. 41 Ways to Savy $1000 a Month by The Peaceful Mom

Do you or your children have any gently warn “in-style” clothes?  Gather the items that aren’t being worn anymore and you can sell them to places like Plato’s Closet. I bet you have some old books, records, etc.  You can also sell those to places like Half Price Books.  Side note:  please do not expect large amounts of money from this method, but every little bit helps.

I feel that if you truly want to travel you will find a way to make it happen, regardless of how meager or generous your income may be.  I hope I was able to help you with new ways to save money for your travel needs.

If you have any methods to saving money that aren’t mentioned here or in the links provided above please comment above and share!

love always, tiffani

3 thoughts on “Don’t have the money?

  1. We have the same goal in mind for our family. We want to take our kids abroad once a year. This year we went to Dubai (without them). We are still trying to decide on a vacation spot for next year. Do you have any suggestions on countries to take two small ones?

    Liked by 1 person

Jot Something Down...

