the struggle is real…

Here is the back story to the image above. A friend of mine tagged me to an image on Instagram; it was a picture promoting the upcoming sale of tickets to a George Strait concert in Las Vegas for next year.  As you can see from the dialogue the struggle is real when I plan my vacations & extended weekends as I only have limited amount of vacations days with my employer.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the company & the people I work with, but it would be nice to have more than 2 weeks vacation a year.  Especially, after I’ve been there for 5 years.

Side note: Did you know that by law every country in the European Union requires employers to give their employees 4 weeks vacation!  I’m just salivating at the thought of where I would go with that amount of paid time off.  Americans work years & years before earning 4 weeks paid vacation.

On average, Americans get 14-15 days paid vacation.  Can you imagine not taking your earned time off?  Some of us (Americans) don’t because they can roll it over to the next year.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t have that privilege & I use up every last minute of my vacation.

I’m very grateful for where I am today.  Where I was employed before is a non-profit organization that did not give their hourly employees medical insurance or paid time off.  If I was sick or wanted to have a day off, I did not get paid.

I like to say that I’ve “paid my dues” & I take my vacation with no guilt but but with a little “I wish I had more time off” attitude.

#FirstWorldProblems

love always, tiffani

Jot Something Down...

